Workouts, Picnics and a Ride, oh my!

Another weekend come and gone, always going by way too fast. I hope everyone enjoyed theirs as much as I did!

While the air temperature was a little cool this past weekend the sun was shining for the majority of the time and we took full advantage of that!
Saturday morning I was up and out of the house before the sun was barely peeking over the horizon. With the little one at home it’s difficult to get to the pool to get laps in so Saturday morning Master’s Swim class is the best I can do. Class starts at 6, when the Y opens, so I was there waiting at the doors. Owen has swim class at 9:05 so it’s a great motivator for me to get in a couple workouts before he joins me at the Y for class. I swam ~2400yds and then went outdoors for ~4.25 miles by foot. I forgot to switch my Garmin over to outdoor activities so I lost the first 3 minutes off my distance, hence the approximation. I know I ran 4 miles but the rest of the mileage was an estimate.
After Owen’s swim class we headed home for some napping and snacking before running¬†errands down in Wilton. We got a few things accomplished, picked up some snacks at the Healthy Living Market and then headed to Yaddo Gardens in Saratoga for a picnic and some strolling.
A Man on a Mission

A Man on a Mission

While there wasn’t much blooming yet at Yaddo it was still beautiful and we saw a few things in bloom like trillium, bleeding hearts, daffodils and snakes! I guess they weren’t “blooming” but they were out sunning themselves on the rocks.
Fiddle Head Ferns

Fiddle Head Ferns

Gardner Snake

Gardner Snake

Daddy and Baby

Daddy and Baby

Momma and Owen

Momma and Owen

Sunday we had plans to do a long bike ride to celebrate a friends birthday. We had a babysitter all lined up so we headed over to the Conklingville Dam in Hadley, NY to meet the rest of the crew. We had 11 people total and were¬†quite the crew of misfits! We started out heading north across the dam to North Shore Road and then went West to Edinburgh, across the bridge and returned via South Shore Road. Here’s a link to the map of our route. There was only one flat tire had along the way and of course it happened to me! But luckily I had a great pit crew there to take care of it for me so we were back at it at no time. The rest of the ride was uneventful in that we had no more flats and nobody crashed, but it was great. It was a relaxed ride with good friends. Since I have been riding alone lately I was very happy to be in a group and get to take advantage of some drafting! Even though I can’t draft during a tri it’s nice to do when the chance arises.
Rest Stop in Edinburgh

Rest Stop in Edinburgh

After our ride we picked up Owen and our babysitter and brought her home making a quick stop for some ice cream on the way. Although the air was a bit chilly it felt great sitting out in the sun.
The rest of the day was left for laundry, dishes and some other chores. We had a great dinner that consisted of grilled chicken tacos with fresh kiwi salsa. I use this recipe here from How Sweet Eats. I made the tacos last week with cod (her original recipe uses Tilapia) and since I made another batch of salsa we decided to try it with chicken. They were just as good! It’s such an easy recipe I see myself making it all summer long!
And now we are back to Monday and another fun week. I’m looking forward to a ride tomorrow night at Battlefield Park with some Saratoga Tri Club friends and hopefully a couple runs later in the week. Today is a much desired REST DAY! Happy Monday folks!

 

One thought on “Workouts, Picnics and a Ride, oh my!

Leave a Reply

