OBX Half Ironman Training Plan

Last week I mentioned that I was working on creating my training plan for the Outer Banks Half Ironman on September 13, 2014. While I feel as though it is still a work in progress, I have a plan mapped out that I hope will work for me.

I know this looks a little daunting (at least it does to me), but I tried to create a plan that would push me to my limits and really test my ability to stick with it. I know that I won’t be able to get all of these workouts in, they are going to have to be scheduled around vacations, work and family life, but I’m hoping to stick with the rough idea of it all.

So without further ado, here is my plan:

April and May Training

June Training
June Training
July Training
July Training
August Training
August Training
September Training
September Training

The one thing that is missing from my plan is any races that I might do as practice. I haven’t committed to anything yet and I still have to see what fits to my schedule.

Races I have tentatively scheduled in my mind that are not shown on my plan are:

May 10th: Ryan’s Run 5k in Saratoga Spa State Park (it’s a great little 5k put on by friends of ours)
June 28th: Vermont Sun Sprint Triathlon
August 3rd: Hudson Headwaters Care for Kids 5k
August 31st: Big George Aqua Bike (this is 2 weeks before my half so I don’t want to do that full half Ironman but I think it will be a good training race)

I’m sure there will be more additions to that list, but that’s what I have for now.

One thought on “OBX Half Ironman Training Plan

Leave a Reply

