Who needs sleep!

This girl needs sleep!

I finally am getting some good sleep and it is amazing what a difference it makes!

O’s sleep habits have always been all over the place. Some nights he would wake up as many as 4-5 times a night while other nights only once or twice. He has never been one of those babies who would wake in the middle of the night and be up for hours and hours, thankfully, but he woke in the middle of the night (sometimes many, many, many times) for a feeding before going back to sleep.

20140417-092855.jpg

We saw major improvements in the number of times up per night when we moved into the new house in February which also correlated to O turning 9 months old. Perhaps it was the age, or maybe it was the less creaky, more sound proof house, but whatever it was, it was nice. He was at the point of sleeping from ~8:30PM to sometime between 3-5AM. I’d get up, feed him, and back down he would go until Harrison had to wake him up in the morning for “school”. It got to the point he was only waking up about an hour before my alarm would go off (which is at the ungodly hour of 4:40AM) which meant I usually wasn’t able to go back to sleep and that was the real killer. Being up at 3:30AM on a work day was just not cutting it.

Let me back track a minute so I can explain why I believe he was waking up at this time. When I went back to work last September my morning routine included waking O up sometime between 5 – 5:30AM to feed him before I left for the day. I worried that some day it would come back to bite us because he would be used to that morning feeding, but it was what worked for us at the time.

Fast forwarding to now, I was fairly certain that morning wake-up was only because he was used to it and not because he really needed it. In comes some sleep training. When I learned Harrison was going to be out of town for a couple of days for work I decided it was the week I was going to break O of the morning wake-up habit and get him to sleep through the night. I needed Harrison to be gone because I knew it was going to involve a little bit of crying and I didn’t want to disrupt the sleep of everyone in the house.

It really wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, and I think mostly because we were so close to him doing it on his own anyway. The first night O woke up around 1:30AM crying. It wasn’t an all out scream-fest so I let him cry, and back to sleep he went. Around 5:15AM he woke again, cried for just a minute, and back to sleep he went. Night 2 was even better, O slept most of the night through, peeped around 5, and went back to sleep. Night 3 was about the same and by the time night 4 rolled around, O slept through the night so soundly that when I went in at 7 to wake him he didn’t even stir. I watched him sleep for about 15 minutes and then slowly roused him awake. I would have let him sleep but I did have to get to work at some kind of reasonable hour!

20140417-093031.jpg

So that is our sleep story. I am so happy to be getting back into a normal sleep routine. While I don’t expect every night to be uninterrupted as I’m sure there will be teething pains, and growing pains, and a sick baby who just needs some love, it’s nice to know we are on the right track.

Leave a Reply

