I Did What??

Let’s talk about running for a minute.
 
To be a runner you don’t have to be fast.
You don’t have to have a fancy outfit.
You don’t have to have the latest and greatest watch to track your speed and distance, heart rate and time.
You just need to lace up a pair of sneakers and head out the door.
 
That was me when I took up running in 2008. I was tired of feeling fat and out of shape but I didn’t have the money for a gym membership so I decided I’d run. The first time I laced up those shoes I made it one block. Then I stopped, my chest heaving, trying to catch my breath. Those first few weeks of running I would head out in the wee hours of the morning before the sun came up and I’d run a mile. That was all I had time for and that was all my body would allow. As I felt myself becoming stronger I decided I had to set a goal  so I signed up for my first race, the 5k Turkey Trot in Troy. NY on Thanksgiving Day. At the time, that race felt like the most daunting thing ever! I had it in my mind that I was going to be last, that there was no way I was going to be able to finish. It was that mind set that kept me going, hitting the road every couple of days to run just a little farther, just a little longer. I finished that race and I wasn’t last and that’s where it all began…
 
In 2008 I ran 1 race. In 2009 I ran 3. I ran my first half marathon in 2010 along with 5 other races. 2011 was a big year for me, I participated in 15 different races! I had a lot of stress in my life and running helped ease that so I threw myself into racing for fun (and therapy). I ran my first marathon in 2011 and then ran the same race again in 2012. Neither were great and I vowed to never run another marathon again.  That idea only lasted a couple months as I then signed up for Ironman Lake Placid (IMLP) which ends in a marathon so I guess I’d have to run another! While IMLP didn’t end up happening for me I had it in my mind that I would run a few more marathons some day.
 
Image
 
Which brings us to today, and the fact that I signed up to run the Walt Disney World Marathon on January 11, 2015. It was a decision made in a day and although the details of the trip won’t be worked out for awhile I am super excited about it. I’m going to be running it with my sister and I couldn’t think of a better person to have along with me. It will be her first marathon which makes me even more excited to be running it with her.
 
Now I just have to focus on my 1/2 Ironman in September so I can be in tip-top shape going into marathon training in the fall!
Leave a Reply

