A Fridge Full of Goodness!

Box

My refrigerator is bursting at the seams with fresh vegetables and it is awesome! I love the CSA from Denison Farm that we are part of this year. We have only been receiving vegetables for 3 weeks now but we are already getting so many good things.

In the box this week was:

  • Red leaf lettuce
  • Green leaf lettuce
  • A bunch of parsley
  • Cucumbers
  • Broccoli
  • Beets with greens attached
  • Fennel
  • Dinosaur Kale

I have never used fennel before in my cooking so I was a little intimidated by it. And while I love beets I have only ever cooked them once before. I did a little digging on Pinterest and found a few recipes that used roasted beets in a cool summer salad with fennel. I needed a few things at the grocery store to make that salad happen so I decided last night just to roast the beets so I would have them to use at a later date.

To roast the beets I wrapped each one individually in aluminum foil and placed them in the oven in a baking dish to catch any liquid that might escape. I cooked them at 400 degrees for an hour before removing them and allowing them to cool. Once cool the peels came off easily and I was left with perfectly roasted beets!

I asked Harrison if he liked beets and he said yes, and that he really liked them pickled. Since it is easy to make refrigerator pickles I decided that is what I would do with the beets and that I would just throw in the fennel as well. You can’t go wrong with a little vinegar and sugar, right?

photo 2

I thinly sliced the fennel bulb, chopped up the beets and tossed them with a simple vinaigrette that I made out of cider vinegar, olive oil, salt, pepper and dried mustard. I left them in the fridge overnight so the flavors could meld and threw the mixture on a salad today for lunch with some of the red leaf lettuce and cucumbers also from the share. It made for an awesome combination of flavors in my mouth.

Image

In my quest last night to use some of the veggies in the fridge that we still had remaining from last week’s farm share I made a simple pesto with curly kale and garlic scapes for dinner. I threw them in the food processor with some olive oil and fresh grated Parmesan and it was delicious. Tossed with some pasta, a can of white beans and some peas and it was a great way to add some nutrients to a pasta dish.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

