IMGP6429On Sunday I completed the Vermont Sun Sprint Triathlon at Branbury State Park in Salisbury, VT and man was it a great race! I have some minor complaints about the logistics of the race (the bike racks were way too full!), but overall it was a nice event and I had a great day.

Pre-Race Photo Op
Pre-Race Photo Op
Transition set and ready to go
Transition set and ready to go

The Swim:

Swim Course
Swim Course

My goal going into the race was to swim the 600 yds as fast as I could. I expected to finish in ~12 minutes. There were 4 waves for the sprint race, I was in the 3rd wave which consisted of all female athletes under age 39. I lined up near the front of the group to avoid as much of the chaos as I could. It did the trick! I only bumped elbows with a few people and came out of the water feeling really good about it.

Coming out of the swim
Coming out of the swim

Total clock time for the swim: 10:21.

The Bike: Goal – bike as fast as I could. Seeing as though the bike portion of the race was only 14 miles I decided I would just go ahead and give it all I had on the bike. My biking has been feeling really strong and I hoped that even with the rolling hills that the course had to offer that I would be able to maintain a fairly good pace. My expected completion time was 50 minutes, which would be equivalent to ~17 mph. When I came out of transition I was feeling OK. I hopped on my bike and immediately starting passing people, it felt great! This is the first year that I was really passing people more than being passed. I felt strong and powered up the small hills and took full advantage of the downhill’s to keep my speed up. I ate a bag of Honey Stinger Cola gummies and drank half a bottle of heed. Total clock time for the bike: 45:48, an 18.2 mph average.

Off on the Bike
Off on the Bike

The Run: Unfortunately my run was not pretty, and it’s where I lost my first place age group ranking. For the first 1.5 miles I wasn’t feeling good. My stomach was sloshing around and while I didn’t stop to walk I really want to. As I was getting passed I was paying attention to the age of all those passing me. If you don’t know, in triathlon your age is written on your calf, so I could see if the people passing me were in my age group. Somewhere within the first mile I was passed by a girl in my age group and she was looking strong! I knew there was no way I was catching her. My only hope was that I wasn’t going to be passed anymore and that there weren’t too many in front of me also in my age group. At the turn around point for the 5k I had a cup of water and felt myself feeling a bit better. I picked it up for the last mile and finished with a total clock time for my 5k of 28:35.

Finishing Strong
Finishing Strong
Finished! (Time on clock is from start of the Oly so does not reflect my actual finish time)
Finished! (Time on clock is from start of the Oly so does not reflect my actual finish time)
DONE. Now give me water!
DONE. Now give me water!

Counting transitions, T1 = 1:17, T2 = 1:06, my overall finish time was 1:27:08. That time was good enough to get me 2nd place in my age group! That made me one happy momma. That was only my second triathlon since having Owen and my first was muuuuuuuuuuch slower, and hurt so much more. I came out of this tri feeling happy and strong. While my run still needs a lot of work and I know my training isn’t over yesterday’s race made me feel good about my upcoming Half IM in September.

2nd Place Age Group Winner
2nd Place Age Group Winner
Me and O
Me and O
Momma and a Goofball
Momma and a Goofball

Happy racing everyone!

Leave a Reply

