Bistro Tallulah

We like to eat good food. Period. We don’t go to all you can eat buffets and very rarely do we go to chain restaurants. If we are going out to dinner we choose quality over quantity. Generally, price isn’t an issue, we don’t go out very often so we don’t mind paying a little more for a delicious meal.

All that said let me tell you about Bistro Tallulah. If it’s been a while since you’ve had a good meal, go there, now. Their food is sooooooooooooooo good. Words don’t really do it justice but I’ll try and tell you about it anyway so you get an idea of what they have to offer.

Last Wednesday night was a way overdo date night out for Harrison and I. It’s been a long time since we went out together without Owen (our last few ventures out without O were for kayaking and bike riding, shows you how we roll, lol). We’ve had the date marked on our calendar for at least a month as I knew the Audiostars were performing a free concert in Glens Falls City Park and it was also Take-a-Bite night in town. We thought we would eat samplings at the different stations around town before heading over to the park but it was busy and there were lines that we didn’t feel like waiting in so we headed over to Tallulah to see if we could get a table. They are often booked full with reservations in the evening so when we saw 3 empty tables outside we had hopes we could sneak in since we were early. Luck was on our side and we were able to score a table on the street. It was a beautiful night and I really wanted to be outdoors instead of cramped inside.

Bistro Tallulah usually offers a Mojito special during the summer, my favorite, so I started with that while Harrison opted for a double IPA (I don’t remember the brand, but it was good). One of the things we really like about Tallulah is that they offer half plates as well as full plates so we often will get 2 small plates so that we can enjoy more of the great food that they have to offer. There were a number of specials for the night including an amazing summer salad which was what I chose to start with. It was shrimp, edamame, grilled corn and red onion served on a bed of butter lettuce with a fresh dill dressing.

First Course
First Course

For my second course I chose the Artichoke, Chorizo and Seafood Cioppino, shrimp, scallops, mussels & salmon tossed with artichoke hearts, chorizo sausage, peas, peppers & a saffron tomato broth served over creamy parmesan polenta. At the time I didn’t actually know what a Ciopinno was, after googling it just now Wikipedia tells me that it is “a fish stew originating in San Francisco, California. It is considered an Italian-American dish, and is related to various regional fish soups and stews of Italian cuisine”. I know I sound like a broken record, but OMG, so good. The scallops were cooked so perfectly, they were nice and tender, and the flavors all came together so nicely. I practically licked my plate clean, soaking up the remainder of the broth with some of the crusty bread they served us earlier in our meal.

Second Course
Second Course

I was so into my meal that I can’t actually tell you allthe details of what H ordered. He got 2 small plates, one was one of the specials which was a seared tuna served over garlic hummus with a cucumber yogurt sauce on top and the other was the Cochon de Lait (whole roasted suckling pig) – Pulled & re-crisped to order served atop sweet potato puree, vegetable medley.green cabbage slaw & sherry citrus demi. The pork is a standard for H, it’s one of his favorites and it is always delicious.

We ended our meal sharing a half bottle of a wonderful Spanish red wine and chatted with some friends who were heading in to the restaurant themselves for dinner. It was a wonderful meal and I can’t stress enough the fact that you should go check it out for yourselves! If you do go, plan accordingly and make reservations, it will save you the headache later if it’s a busy night. They are open Tuesday – Saturday for dinner starting at 5PM, closed Sunday and Monday.

2 thoughts on “Bistro Tallulah

  1. Um, I think it is just cruel that I read this at the beginning of my work day with long hours ahead of me! That looks and sounds delicious. Glad you guys had such a nice night.

Leave a Reply

