One Week (& a recipe)

A week from tomorrow I’ll be pulling on my wetsuit, donning my goggles and stretching a swim cap over my noggin to join a few hundred other swimmers in the ocean at the beginning of the Outer Banks Half Ironman. (I supposed that’s not quite accurate as the swim waves don’t have that many people in them, but you get my drift).

To say I’m a little nervous would be an understatement. While I have completed the distance before, that was pre-baby, and things have definitely changed since then. Workouts have been put off for more important things like playing in the sand and building towers out of blocks. I know that my body is ready for the challenge, but I fear it’s going to be slower than my previous half and I’m having a hard time mentally getting over that. The mental game of racing is a tough one, and I know that I don’t have to beat my previous time on every race, but I REALLY want to because in my mind that proves that I am back to my “old” self. But really, I’ll never be who I was back then because I have an awesome little boy in my life who has changed me for the better in so many ways. So I’m trying to keep my mind open and just enjoy the idea of a long day in the water and on the road doing what makes me happy.

But enough about that, let’s talk about what I’ve been up to lately in the kitchen. I made the best corn salsa twice in 2 days over the holiday weekend that I just have to share with you guys. Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to snap any pictures of it but just imagine bright yellow and white corn kernels, a pop of red from the onion and bold green from the cilantro and jalapenos. It was awesome, and literally gone within an hour each time it was served.

Corn Salsa (Original recipe taken from How Sweet Eats)

  • 12 oz. corn
  • ½ a red onion, diced
  • 3 – 4 jalapenos, seeded and diced (keep some seeds in if you like more spice)
  • ¾ cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp pepper

 

Throw everything together, stir, and adjust seasonings to taste. Enjoy! (Best served with Lime Tostitos ;-))

 

Some Notes:

I didn’t measure my corn, and I used fresh corn off the cob because I had it and it was awesome. I used a 4 cup bowl in which I added all the other ingredients first and then scooped in the corn until it was almost full. It was probably more than 12 oz., but I don’t really know. You can’t really mess it up, so go ahead, throw in another scoop, I dare ya!

Leave a Reply

