Helpers Fund 5k/10k

 

IMG_2092.JPG
In my OBX Half Ironman race recap I know I promised subsequent posts about our vacation in the Outer Banks but to be honest I haven’t felt like writing about it. I’ve started a couple posts but I had so much fun and want to tell you everything about it that I find myself rambling and I’m sure my rambling isn’t something anyone wants to read. What I’ll probably do is share a few posts of photos from the trip but until I get to that I have another race to tell you about.

This past weekend (September 27th & 28th) was the weekend of the Adirondack Distance festival in Chestertown and Schroon Lake, NY. The big races of the weekend occur in Schroon Lake on Sunday, those are the half marathon and the full marathon. But as part of the weekend’s events there is also The Helpers Fund 5k & 10k held on Saturday in Chestertown.

Owen is ready to race
Owen is ready to race

My sister and I are currently training for the Disney Marathon held in January so we have tried to plan out a few races together during the training cycle to keep each other motivated. This particular race was local to me and inexpensive so I suggested we run it.

Pre-Race Sister Selfie
Pre-Race Sister Selfie

Jen came home late Friday night (she lives out in MA) and crashed with the boys on our living room floor (she has a 2 year old and a 3.5 year old). Morning came all too early and before we knew it we were headed north for the race. Chestertown is about a 35 minute drive from my house and the race had a late start time of 9:30 so at least we weren’t up crazy early. The start was at the Chestertown Municipal Center where we were able to find parking and head inside to locate our bibs and use the bathroom one more time before the race started.

All loaded up and ready to go!
All loaded up and ready to go!

Harrison was off kayaking for the day leaving me with Owen to push for the race. I ran the 10k while Jen, having both boys, ran the 5k. For a race that advertised as relatively flat and fast, Jen and I agreed that while pushing jogging strollers it certainly did not feel like a flat course! (In reality, it was not flat, there were a few good sized hills. I guess when you are in the Adirondacks that is flat!)

Despite the hills, I really liked this event. The race was really well organized and the volunteers and spectators were so supportive. The 5k and 10k start out together on the same course but the 10k eventually veers off to add some extra miles coming back to the 5k course in the middle. With all of the intertwining of the race courses there was never any confusion about which way we were supposed to go. There were an ample number of volunteers at every turn directing the way along with signs and road markings. The 10k had 3 water stops which was a blessing on this unusually warm and sunny late September day.

Happy as can be. Photo thanks to Pat Hendrick Photography.
Happy as can be. Photo thanks to Pat Hendrick Photography.

Considering I was pushing Owen in the stroller I was very happy with my finish time. I crossed the line in just over 1hr (1 hour 34 seconds to be exact), which averages out to just under a 10 minute mile. We had some snacks, let the boys stretch their legs and then packed up the kids and headed back to the house for an afternoon of play. I love watching the kids run around together, it makes me wish we lived closer so the boys had each other all the time to play with. We will take whatever time we can get, though.

The younger one is at the wheel, watch out!
The younger one is at the wheel, watch out!

Next race on the plan is the After the Leaves Have Fallen half marathon in Minnewaska State Park November 9th. I might sign up for something between now and then but I don’t have anything on the radar. I’m just going to focus on getting in my long runs on the weekends and a couple shorts runs during the week.

Happy Monday, everyone. I hope you all have a great week!

Leave a Reply

