Butternut Squash and Apple Curry Soup

The transition from summer to fall has finally sped up and we are feeling more fall like around here these days. Because of this I have a hankering for comfort food. Mac and Cheese, roasted chicken, and definitely some hot soup, lots of hot soup. Since I’ve had a couple of squash hanging around in the fridge I figured it was time for some butternut squash soup. I found this recipe online, gave it a try, and loved it. I think you will too!

(Sorry for the lack of photos, you can check out the recipe at A Cozy Kitchen for some photos of the finished product)

Butternut Squash and Apple Curry Soup
Adapted from A Cozy Kitchen

1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 cups chopped yellow onions (1 medium sized onion)
1 tablespoon mild curry powder
2 1/2 pounds butternut squash (1 large)
2  sweet apples (I used one honeycrisp and one ginger gold)
1 teaspoons kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
3 cups chicken stock (veggie or water will also work)

Warm the butter, olive oil, onions, and curry powder in a large stockpot uncovered over low heat for 15 to 20 minutes, until the onions are tender. Stir occasionally, scraping the bottom of the pot.

Peel, quarter, and core the apples. Cut into chunks.  Peel & cube the squash.

Add the squash, apples, salt, pepper, and 3 cups of chicken stock to the pot. Bring to a boil, cover, and cook over low heat for 40 minutes until the squash and apples are very soft. Puree the soup with a stick blender or run it through a food mill or blender.

Serve with a warm slice of Smitten Kitchen’s carrot cake with apple cider and olive oil and you’ll have the best fall meal!

A few notes:

  • The original recipe called for an additional ½ cup of apple cider to be added in at the end. I had planned on adding it but once I tasted it I realized it was already plenty sweet and had a great apple taste so I left it out.
  • I didn’t actually measure the chicken stock that I added. All I know is that it was more than the 2 cups that the original recipe called for. I added enough to the pot I had to almost cover all the squash and apples. I’m pretty sure it was around 3 cups… a little extra won’t hurt it.
Leave a Reply

