Skiing in the Woods

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a hundred times, I love to be out in the woods. Whether it’s on foot going for a hike, on snowshoes or on skis, it’s my happy place.

This past weekend we were lucky enough to escape into the woods for a little x-country ski with some good friends in the Siamese Ponds Wilderness Area in North River, NY. We had made tentative plans earlier in the week with the in-laws to leave Owen with them while we went out because it’s just a little too cold for him. It was almost too cold for me, too, but my lovely husband dragged my butt off the couch and made me go out, and of course I was happy in the end that we did.

We were on the road by 10:30AM to drop off Owen at the in-laws and then make our way up to the Old Farm Road parking area to meet up with our friends, Bill and Michelle, at noon.

Donning our gear we were all questioning why we were heading out to ski, the car told us it was only 5 degrees! But the sun was shining and we were protected from the wind in the woods so we knew it would be a nice day. And boy, was it! The sun felt so good shining down on us.

We skied the Botheration Pond Loop in the clockwise direction. Harrison and I have always done it the opposite way so we thought we’d switch it up this time. It was a nice ski, as always, but we decided counter-clockwise is the way to go. There’s a fun, long downhill at the end when skiing it counter-clockwise that you have to climb instead when going in the opposite direction.

botheration pond map

We finished up just before 4PM and made our way up to Garnet Hill Lodge for an après-ski beverage and snack. Being at Garnet Hill brings back awesome memories of our wedding day so I love stopping up there when we have the chance.

Flashback to our wedding day at Garnet Hill Lodge 2012
Flashback to our wedding day at Garnet Hill Lodge 2012

The day ended back at the in-laws with a little dinner and play time with Owen before packing up and heading home. It was a fun day and I’m excited to be embracing the x-country skiing this year. It’s great exercise and even though I get frustrated at times the more I get out the better a skier I will become.

One thought on “Skiing in the Woods

  1. It frustrates the crap out of me too, but I’m with you, the more I get out there and just do it the better skier I am. I can’t believe how much better I’m doing this year and I totally attribute it to time spent in the woods with my skis strapped on my feet! Have at it girl!

Leave a Reply

