Ironman Lake Placid Training – Week 2

Week 2 of Ironman Training is done and it didn’t all go as planned. The beginning of the week started out well and I had some great workouts but I ended up missing both my long bike and my long run for the week which was a real bummer but I’ll get to that in a minute. Let’s talk about the good that happened this week.

Monday: REST
Tuesday: 40 minute bike (includes 8 x 20 second sprints) – DONE (11 Miles)
Wednesday: 40 minute run (speedwork) – DONE (4 miles speedwork on the treadmill)
Thursday: 45 minute bike – Completed 12 mile bike (41 minutes 26 seconds)
Friday: Workout #1 – Swim 1200 yds; DONE ~1650 yds. Workout#2: 5 mile easy run SICK
SaturdayWorkout #1 – Master’s Swim; Workout #2 – 30 mile bike SICK
Sunday8 mile run (Shamrock Shuffle 5 mile race + 3 miles) SICK

Monday was a rest day which I took full advantage of. My legs were definitely happy to not have anything to do. Tuesday was a 40 minute bike ride and it’s still not quite warm enough to be outside so that was done on the trainer. My legs were still a little tired but the ride went well and I covered 11 miles in 40 minutes 25 seconds. Wednesday was a 40 minute speedwork run which I would have loved to have done outdoors but the spring like weather we’ve had decided to go back towards winter weather so I opted for the treadmill instead. I did fast 400 intervals with one 800 interval at the end. Legs felt good and the run went well overall.

Thursday morning I got up as usual and was fully dressed to head downstairs when Owen started crying. I went in to change his diaper hoping I could get him back to sleep afterwards but he was having nothing of it so he and I snuggled up on the couch to watch some Sesame Street. We opted to keep Owen home from school because he was pretty miserable so I stayed home with the sick babe. It was a good choice because it turned out he had some kind of lovely stomach virus. So he and I watched some TV and movies and snuggled until his naptime when I headed downstairs for my planned 45 minute trainer ride. The ride felt great! I wasn’t planning anything speedy, in fact it was supposed to be an easy ride but I managed to average 17.5 mph which is good for me. It makes me feel like I’m making some progress on my bike speed which has always been a little slow.

We thought Owen was doing better Thursday night and would be good to go to school on Friday so I headed out as normal to go to the gym for my Friday swim and then to work. I had a good swim, roughly 1650 yds., but as I was heading out of the gym I got a text from Harrison saying Owen wasn’t well so I headed home to stay with him because Harrison had meetings at work that he couldn’t miss (he worked from home because he wasn’t feeling well either). I thought I was fine until mid-morning when it felt like I was hit by a truck. Body aches, chills, sweating, & a fever, yep, felt pretty much like the flu. So my second workout of the day never happened, nor did my Saturday bike or Sunday run. But I felt like it was better for me to get healthy than to push my body anymore. I’m still not 100%, I have some kind of head cold now, but I’m feeling much better than I did all weekend. Hopefully I’m on the mend and can jump back into training.

Spring better come soon so I can air the sickness out of the house!

In other good news this week I secured housing for Ironman weekend that is walking distance to the start, woohoo! Having signed up late for the race I knew it was going to be a challenge to find something close and affordable. After a few hiccups I managed to find a small apartment that is perfect for Harrison and I and is only 1/2 a mile to the oval. Perfect! And my new Betty Designs team gear came this week. It is so awesome! (see the picture below). I am returning a few things for smaller sizes but overall everything rocks, I can’t wait to wear it all out on the race course!

Here’s the plan for the week:

Monday: REST
Tuesday: 40 minute bike (includes 10 x 20 second sprints)
Wednesday: 40 minute run (speedwork)
Thursday: 45 minute bike
Friday: Workout #1 – Swim 1200 yds; Workout#2: 5 mile easy run
Saturday: Workout #1 – Master’s Swim; Workout #2 – 35 mile bike
Sunday: 9 mile run

Happy Training!

New Betty Designs Team Gear came this week!
New Betty Designs Team Gear came this week!
One thought on “Ironman Lake Placid Training – Week 2

  1. Whoop! So excited to see you’re going to be doing IMLP!! And yes, it’s always better to rest and get over the cold than push it and have it linger for weeks!!

Leave a Reply

