IMLP Training Weeks 5 & 6

IMG_3457.JPGAs always I’m going to start this post off with a little bit of a plea for donations. I’m racing Ironman Lake Placid on the Team for Cures, raising money for the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation. The American Cancer Society estimates that there will be 26,850 new cases of Multiple Myeloma in the United States in 2015. Can you help me fight this terrible disease? Please consider making a donation, even 5$ will help this great cause. You can make an online donation on my personal page here.

Now that I got that out of the way, let me tell you about how training is going…

Another 2 weeks have come and gone and boy are the hours starting to pile up. I FINALLY made it outside on my bike (TWICE!) and it was a lovely time but very humbling as well. Yes, I have been on my bike throughout the winter but I am finding that those trainer rides do not translate to climbing hills.

If you know anything about the Lake Placid area you know that it’s not flat, thus the need to train on hills. I hate hills. Let me say that again, I. Hate. Hills. Yes, I love to climb mountains, by foot, but put me on my bike and I turn into a turtle. Guess I should have thought about that before signing up for an Ironman in the middle of the Adirondack Mountains, huh? Joking aside, the rides were great, I love being outdoors instead of staring at a wall while riding, even if I’m trudging up hill. For my first outdoor ride the loop I rode (twice) is a great practice route for IMLP, one loop has a net elevation gain of 1600 ft. for a total of 3200 ft. over my two loops. For comparison, the IMLP course has ~6600 ft. of climbing over 112 miles so I should be in good shape for that if I keep riding my loop. My second ride outside didn’t include as much climbing but it had a few hills and was a nice ride along the Lake George Olympic bike route.

Helmet head and all, still smiling :-)
Helmet head and all, still smiling 🙂

But enough chit chat, here’s what the past two weeks looked like in terms of workouts:

Week 5
Monday: REST
Tuesday: 11 mile trainer ride (41:24 minutes) followed by a 2 mile brick run (treadmill)
Wednesday: 6.54 mile run (speedwork – outdoors)
Thursday: 16.5 mile trainer ride (1 hr.)
Friday: 2000 yd. Swim
Saturday: Workout #1 – Master’s Swim ~2600 yds; Workout #2 – 10 mile treadmill run
Sunday: 40.5 mile bike (outside, woohoo!) followed by a 3.1 mile brick run (outside)

Week 6
Monday: REST
Tuesday: 15.8 mile trainer ride (1 hr.)
Wednesday: 6.5 mile run (speedwork – outdoors)
Thursday: 11 mile trainer ride (40:18) followed by a 2 mile brick run (treadmill)
Friday: Workout #1 – 3.3 mile run (outside); Workout #2 – 2200 yd.Swim
Saturday: Workout – #1 Master’s Swim ~2800 yds.; Workout #2 – Rotary 5k at SUNY Adirondack (pushing O in the jogging stroller); Workout #3 – 53 mile ride (outside)
Sunday: 11 Mile Run 5.4 mile run/walk pushing Owen in the jogging stroller (tired legs but nice to get out)

Glens Falls Rotary 5k
Glens Falls Rotary 5k

I did really well at getting in all of my workouts for these two weeks. I did cut my long run short during week 6 due to tired legs and a tired mind but I was proud of myself for getting out there at all. I ran a super speedy (for me) 5k during week 6 which made me really happy. It’s been awhile since I’ve run fast and I managed a really good run while pushing 30+ lbs of toddler in the jogging stroller so I was excited. Go Me! I’m interested in seeing what I can do when I’m not pushing a toddler. Can I PR??? I’m really hoping so! I’d love to break the 25 minute mark someday….

Everything else was pretty uneventful. I ran my long run during week 5 on the treadmill, that was pretty bad. Circumstances didn’t allow me the ability to get outside so I got it done, but it wasn’t pretty. Hoping to avoid the treadmill as much as possible from here on out since spring has finally sprung!

Are you currently training for anything? How’s your training going? I’d love to hear what everyone is up to!

Happy training!

Lake George ride
Lake George ride
2 thoughts on “IMLP Training Weeks 5 & 6

  1. I’m actually training for my first 5K. I haven’t run regularly since jr year of high school, which was a lot of years ago. I’ve used an elliptical on and off, usually during my annual post-christmas slim-down. I’m following a couch-to-5k program (RunDouble App) and am in week 3. So far the intervals are very short, and the next couple weeks (total of 9) will tell a lot, as the intervals get longer. I think week 5, day 3 includes a 20 minute run. We’ll see. I actually suprised that I’m almost done with week 3 and it’s still going well. If a total couch potato like me can do it, anyone can. Glad you’re doing well on your goals. Thanks for the inspiration.

    1. That’s awesome, Ed! Everyone has to start somewhere. Who knows, next year you could be signing up for a half marathon 😉

Leave a Reply

