Ironman Lake Placid Training Weeks 7 & 8

I’m going to change things up a little bit this week. Instead of a detailed outline of my workouts I thought I’d run through the numbers of the past 14 days.

Miles Run: 41.41
Miles Biked: 164.3
Yds. Swam: 4800
Miles Hiked: 2.9

Brick Workouts Completed: 1 (+ ½)

Current fundraising progress: 42% of the way to my goal of raising 5000$ for the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation. Can you help me reach 50% before the end of the month? 

Donations can be made here.

Lessons learned:

  • Brick workouts require you to remember to pack your sneakers. Luckily I have awesome friends who let me borrow their sneakers but in the future I’d like to try to remember them!
  • Running 12 miles the day after biking 50 hurts. I felt like I had lead in my legs! I know, I know, it’s only going to get worse, I do have to run 26.2 miles after biking 112 miles on race day, but it doesn’t mean it’s going to be pain free.
  • Sometimes you have to give up a swim to fit in a run. We had a busy weekend at the end of week 8 with a BBQ to celebrate Owen’s birthday planned for Saturday. With everything that I had to get done I decided I needed to skip Master’s Swim so that I could fit in my 8 mile run. While that meant missing both my swim workouts during week 8, I felt I would benefit more from my run.
  • There is a way to incorporate training into a busy family life and still have fun. I really wanted to do our annual hike up Thomas Mountain but wasn’t sure how I was going to fit it into a busy weekend. I came up with a pedal-hike-pedal scenario and got my awesome husband to go along with it. I biked up to the trailhead (28 miles), we hiked Thomas Mountain as a family (2.9 miles), and I biked home (28 miles). It was such a fun day and a great way to get in some family time while training. (I added a few miles on to each ride to get a total of 62 for the day) 

When all was said and done I felt really good about the last two weeks. I finally got my triathlon bike out on the road during week 8 and am loving it. I’m so comfortable. And I don’t know how much of it is the bike or my fitness level but I’m seeing improvements in my biking ability which is awesome. These 2 weeks also made me realize that I finally have my run back. It has taken 2 years since having Owen to feel confident in my run. While I know I have a long way to go in the speed department I’m feeling awesome out there which is a huge step in the right direction. 

Anywho… Here are some photos from the last 2 weeks. 

Happy training! 

midway stop during my long ride of week 7
Gorgeous evening ride at the Saratoga Battlefield Park
enjoying the nice weather with a tasty beverage
goofer and his “cheese” face
Thomas Mtn trailhead
selfie atop Thomas Mtn
break on the way home from Thomas Mtn

  

Leave a Reply

