A Hiatus & IMLP Training Weeks 9, 10 & 11

logo2

That’s quite the title, huh?

I took a little hiatus from the blog world to enjoy a 16 day vacation with my family on the West Coast. We had an amazing time and I enjoyed the change in routine from my weekly 4AM training wake-up calls but I am definitely ready to jump right back to it.

We are less than 9 weeks from race day, OMG, how did that happen??

The last 3 weeks of training have been a little chaotic and a little unusual. I have barely touched my bike and I haven’t swam a single yard but I have run (a little) and hiked and walked a ton so I haven’t exactly been a slug.

Here’s a breakdown of the last three weeks:

Week 9
Monday: REST
Tuesday: 4 mile run (A little speedwork, but legs were tired)
Wednesday: Battlefield Night – 2 loops on the bike (21.2. miles) + a 2.1 mile run
Thursday: Flight to Sunny CA!
Friday: walked around Disneyland race expo, explored downtown Disney, relaxed
Saturday: 6.2 mile run – Tinkerbelle 10k @ Disneyland
Sunday: 13.1 mile run – Tinkerbelle half marathon @ Disneyland

Week 10
Monday: Drive, drive, drive to Yosemite National Park
Tuesday: Hiked to Vernal and Nevada Falls, walked around the Yosemite Valley
Wednesday: Watched the sunrise from Glacier Point, hiked Sentinel Dome
Thursday: Visited Bridalveil Falls and hiked to Mirror Lake and beyond
Friday: In the car all day driving from Yosemite to Roseburg, OR
Saturday: Nada (Visited the Oregon Coast)
Sunday: Nada (walked around Crater Lake National Park)

Week 11
Monday: 3 mile run in Roseburg, OR
Tuesday: In the car driving to Seattle, WA
Wednesday: ALL DAY Zoo Exploration
Thursday: Walked around Downtown Seattle
Friday: More Seattle sightseeing
Saturday: Flight home to Albany 😦
Sunday: Back on the bike, I missed you Dory! 38.7 solo miles + 32.1 miles with the hubby!

The last 3 weeks were non-traditional training, but it was an amazing vacation (more to come on the details later) and just what I needed to give my body some rest. I hopped back on my bike the day after we got home from Seattle and I felt like I hadn’t missed a beat (though my bum may tell a different story!).

I’m easing back into life and scheduled workouts and am excited and ready to take on the last 60 days of Ironman Lake Placid Training!

Leave a Reply

