Ironman Lake Placid Training Weeks 14 & 15

logo2

As you all know by now, I am racing Ironman Lake Placid with the Team 4 Cures, raising money for The Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation (The MMRF). If you haven’t already made a donation please consider taking a minute out of your day to support this worthy cause (donations can be made on my personal page). The MMRF is the number one private funder of multiple myeloma research in the United States. If you want to learn more about The MMRF you can check out their website and see for yourself the ways they have helped accelerate the development of next generation multiple myeloma treatments to extend patients lives, and lead to a cure.

Now let’s talk about some training, shall we? Here’s what weeks 14 & 15 looked like for me:

Week 14
Monday: REST
Tuesday: 4.4 mile Recovery Run
Wednesday: 31.9 mile Bike @ the Battlefield
Thursday: 6.5 mile morning Run; 0.9 mile Open Water Swim
Friday: Back indoors on the trainer! 46 minute Bike
Saturday: 2.6 mile failed run on the treadmill
Sunday: 10.1 mile Run; 60.3 mile Bike

Week 15
Monday: REST
Tuesday: 6.1 mile morning run; 3.2 mile evening run with my boys
Wednesday: 21 mile Bike; 3.3 mile Brick Run pushing Owen in the stroller
Thursday: 6.1 mile Run; No OWS – forgot bathing suit!
Friday: 18.1 mile Bike – Date Night ride to Lake George with H
Saturday: ~1.3 mile pool Swim – Masters Class
Sunday: 80 mile Ride turned into 26 mile Ride – Crashed my bike

Good: I had some great runs during weeks 14 & 15. While I still need to add distance, a lot of distance, I managed to get in a good amount and I even managed the double run day with the help of my hubby who pushed me out the door for the evening run together. I also dragged myself to the pool during week 15 and remembered just how much I love Master’s Class. It’s a great workout and I always come away with some tips and tricks to try and help improve my swim speed. I’m not sure I’m going to make it to another Master’s Class before the big race but I’m going to try! Also good in week 15 – Date Night! The hubby and I took advantage of the Kids Night Out program at the YMCA and took a fun bike ride up to Lake George. It was a beautiful night and we had a great time. I love the he enjoys being active as much as I do!

Goofy Love
Goofy Love
Sporting my new Betty Designs Team Kit cycling jersey on our Date Night ride
Sporting my new Betty Designs Team Kit cycling jersey on our Date Night ride

Bad: Ironman Mental Demons. They came out during week 15. The week started out really good, I was in a good run groove. But things started to fall apart on Thursday when I forgot my bathing suit for our weekly open water swim, and then Friday I had the chance to ride outside in the afternoon but I couldn’t get myself to go. I did go. And then I turned around before I got out of my neighborhood. My mind was not in it. At. All. And then of course I ended up riding in the rain on Sunday because I didn’t ride Friday and I crashed, severely bruising my left quad muscle. Seems like the appropriate end to the few off days I had at the end of the week but I would have preferred not crashing (wouldn’t we all).

I ripped my brand new Betty Designs Team Kit long Sleeved Jersey :-(. But, it saved my skin, literally.
I ripped my brand new Betty Designs Team Kit long Sleeved Jersey :-(. But, it saved my skin, literally.
My ouchie 3 days later. Yeah, it hurt just a bit.
My ouchie 3 days later. Yeah, it hurt just a bit.

Hopefully the next 5 weeks will be great and I make it to the start line in one piece!
Happy Training!

2 thoughts on “Ironman Lake Placid Training Weeks 14 & 15

Leave a Reply

