Thank You

Thank WHO, you ask?
Thank you.
Yes, you.

This post is for everyone who has helped me along this journey to become an Ironman. From those who helped by donating to the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation, to those who kept me company during my long rides and training runs, to the people who helped watch Owen so Harrison and I could do some training together. This post is for you.

IMG_3457.JPG

To everyone who donated to the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation, THANK YOU! From $5 – $500, every dollar helped me reach my personal fundraising goal as well as helped our team raise over $850,000 for the organization! You read my posts, week after week, begging for money and you reached into your pockets and gave to a great cause. From family, to friends, to complete strangers, the generosity that you all showed is overwhelming and I am so thankful to you all for helping me reach my fundraising goal.

To Sandy & Phil (Mom & Dad Sangster) – For all those weekends that you watched Owen so Harrison could be with me for training, thank you. While I could have trained alone, and I did my fair share of solo training rides and runs, you watched and cared for Owen so that Harrison could join me for the occasional ride, so we could travel to Lake Placid for the weekend to train, and so we could travel to Geneva to race. We are so thankful to have you guys watch Owen and give him so much love and affection. We always knew he was in good hands and that he was having a grand old time with his Nana and Grandpa. And for helping me fundraise, thank you! You reached out to all your friends and helped a great deal towards me reaching my goal.

To My Mom (Elaine McCain) – Along with your generous $ donation, you also donated the gorgeous handmade quilt that was raffled off for fundraising for the MMRF. You have always encouraged me in life to go after what I want and have always supported me in the things I strive for. Thank you for watching Owen while I’m racing Ironman, I know he is in good hands with his Grammie! 

And to my sister, Katie, for also watching Owen race weekend, Thank you! I know he is in good hands there, if you survived raising twin boys, I think you will do just fine with Owen :-). 

Last but certainly not least:

Pre-Race selfie!To My Biggest Supporter – Harrison
There are no words to tell you just how grateful I am to have you in my life. Without you I wouldn’t have even embarked on this journey, I wouldn’t be toeing the line in Lake Placid. You had my back from day one, that crazy morning when I told you about the possibility of racing it in 2015. You listened to me spout out the pros and cons of why I should and shouldn’t do it, why I was crazy to even consider it, and without much hesitation you said, “Do it”. You are my biggest supporter, my greatest cheerleader. You loved me when I was having training blues, but kicked my butt out the door (or down the road) when I had no excuses for skipping a workout. You scraped me up off the road when I crashed my bike but encouraged me to get right back on it once I was healed. For all the encouraging words, massages after long training days, dinner’s cooked, hours spent watching Owen while I trained; Thank you. I couldn’t have done it without you. Thank you for being my race sherpa, my husband and my best friend. I love you and I can’t wait to see you when I cross that finish line in Lake Placid!

Leave a Reply

