2015: A Year End Review

As I sit here on New Year’s Eve I thought I’d look back at 2015 and the adventures that it brought.

Let’s take a peek back by the month, shall we?

In January I took a super fun whirlwind of a trip to Orlando, FL with my sister to run the Walt Disney World Marathon. While it wasn’t my fastest marathon, it was my best when it came to how I felt, how I fueled during the race, and how quickly I recovered from it.

Marathon Castle with Frame

February was a quiet month in our house with very little going on. We had a good year for skiing so we did some adventuring into the woods and even threw in a hike in the High Peaks for good measure. We trudged up Giant Mountain and Rocky Peak Ridge and had a blast butt sliding back down!

IMG_3280
Skiing the Botheration Pond Loop
Giant
Harrison on top of Rocky Peak Ridge. Did I mention it was cold?!?!

March was a busy month with a visit from my sister-in-law and her family from Nebraska for a fun week of skiing and snow sports. It was also the month I lost my mind and signed up to race Ironman Lake Placid raising funds for the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation. It was the start to a crazy journey that lasted the next 20 weeks!

IMG_6494
Skiing with the nephews and brother-in-law at Gore Mountain
IMG_6496
Skiing with my love
I signed up to race Ironman Lake Placid, say what?!
I signed up to race Ironman Lake Placid, say what?!

April was relatively calm ushering in the nice springtime weather and the return to outside activities. There were Easter egg hunts, days spent at the playground and a return to outdoors on the road bike.

IMG_6491
A return to hours spent on the playground!
IMG_6492
Back to riding outdoors, yay!

May was the highlight of the year with our epic 16 day trip out West. We started in Los Angeles with the Pixie Challenge at  Disney Land in Anaheim which included me running a 10k and half marathon on consecutive days.  We then moved on to Yosemite National Park which was absolutely amazing, I didn’t want to leave. The next stop was Roseburg, OR where we took side trips to Crater Lake National Park and the Oregon Coast before ending our trip in Seattle, WA. Owen celebrated his 2nd birthday while in California so for 2016 we’ll have to find some way to top it!

IMG_3972
All the bling!

IMGP8205

IMGP8739
Tunnel View, Yosemite National Park
IMGP8880
On top of Sentinel Dome, Yosemite National Park
IMGP9572
Seattle skyline seen from the harbor

As the summer months picked up so did my racing and training for Ironman Lake Placid. My first triathlon of the season was in June, the Hudson Crossing Sprint Triathlon. It was my best race yet, finishing in 1st place in my age group and 5th female overall! Training was also at an all time high and ended with an unfortunate bike crash causing a little bruising but no broken bones, luckily.

IMG_4252

IMG_4349
The bruise 3 days after crashing my bike

 

July was a crazy month. Not only did it end with Ironman Lake Placid but it also included some fun in the sun and a race weekend away in Geneva, NY where Harrison and I both participated in the Musselman Sprint Triathlon and spent some time wine tasting!

IMG_4531
Finishing up the Mini Mussel Sprint Tri with Harrison

RT1105_042486

 

August was a month of fun in the sun. Ironman training was over and I was ready for some family time! We hiked, we swam and we played in the sand. We tackled some more High Peaks in August finally conquering Allen Mountain. It was an 18+ mile day hike that left me totally beat!

IMGP9906
On top of Mount Jo
P1060920
Lake time with friends!
IMGP0155
On top of Allen Mountain

With September came the end of summer and also the end of triathlon season. While I was sad for it to be over it ended on a high note with the Lake George Triathlon Festival. I raced the Olympic Distance Race on Saturday and the Half Ironman Aquabike Division on Sunday (the swim and bike portion of the Half Ironman). While I have yet to recap the weekend I will briefly say I had an amazing race on Saturday setting a PR by 25 minutes!

IMG_6499

September also included the Ragnar Adirondack relay race with the Bob Ross All Star’s (Season 3). It was a fun 2 days of running, eating, sleeping (a little) and having a grand old time.

IMG_5483

Bob Ross All Stars Season 3
Bob Ross All Stars Season 3

And I almost forgot, we hiked another 3 High Peaks in September, Panther, Santanoni and Couchsachraga!

P1070018

October was another big month for us. Owen was baptized in North Creek on October 4th, his Nana’s 70th birthday! The whole family was there including my dad, Grandpa Jerry, who flew up from TX for the special occasion.

IMG_6502
Columbus Day weekend was another exciting one for us with Harrison and I running the Mohawk Hudson Half Marathon. It was Harrison’s first half marathon, he did fantastic! And I managed to finally squeeze out a half marathon PR by 2 minutes.

IMG_5793
Happy Finishers at the Mohawk Hudson Half marathon

And to wrap up an already crazy month we spent a freezing cold night in the middle of the High Peaks for me to finish climbing the 46 High Peaks in the Adirondacks. On October 18th on top of Haystack Mountain in the middle of a blustery, snowy day, I became an ADK 46er!

P1070169

Wait, we can’t forget Halloween!

IMG_6503

Overall November was a quiet month. Veteran’s Day was rainy but Owen and I braved the weather to run a 5k and Owen ran his first kids race! He was a trooper and did a full once around on the track. We hosted Thanksgiving at our house, it was a small crowd, and the rest of the weekend was spent enjoying family time with my sisters and their boys.

IMG_6100
Veteran’s Day Dash
IMG_6198
Turkey heads!

And here we are, December. We’ve been busy, constantly on the go, but it has been joyous and memorable. I cherish each year as I watch Owen grow, discover and learn more about what the holidays are about. He has finally learned who Santa is and that he brings gifts on Christmas day. He loves Christmas lights and so we are constantly looking and searching for the best displays. The neighbors may have outdone us this year, but they better watch out next year, we’ll be stepping up our game!

IMG_6342
Making a gingerbread train with Nana
EMP_004
Merry Christmas!
EMP_009_Sangster
Chatting with the Big Guy!

Year in numbers:
High Peaks Hiked: 7 which included the last 3 I needed to finish my 46!
Miles Biked: 1967.7 (indoor + outdoor road + outdoor mountain)
Miles Ran: 652 (treadmill + road)
Races Completed: 12
$’s spent on Race Registrations: TOO MUCH!
Hours spent on the playground: Too Many to Count!

I don’t know what 2016 is going to bring, but I’m looking forward to the adventures that await.

What are your plans for next year? Any epic trips or races planned?

Wishing everyone a safe and very Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

