Mother’s Day Weekend 2016

Our weekend started Friday evening with a little trip to Hobby Lobby to pick up some supplies for Owen’s birthday party this week. We didn’t actually find what we were looking for but Owen did love the aisle of mirrors.

After our Hobby Lobby trip I dropped Owen off at the YMCA for their Kids Night Out program and then rushed home to finish up some painting. I’m trying to get the house put back together so needed to finish up some edging. I’m happy to report I got it all done!

Saturday morning I was up early to gather my things for biking. I had plans to attend the first ride of the Women’s Cycling Series being put on by the Adirondack Triathlon Club with support from Grey Ghost Bicycles in Glens Falls. I haven’t done a lot of group riding, and never in a group as large as we had on Saturday. It turned out to be a beautiful day and a very fun time with lots of wonderful women cyclists. 

Group shot before the geoup ride. Photo courtesy of one of the group leaders.

After the 18.6 mile group ride I went out for another ride with a friend up to Lake George and back via the bike trail. It was a gorgeous day to be out and I felt good out there. I ended up with a total of 38 miles for the day, not too shabby!

Helmet head!

After the ride Harrison and I ran some errands and got cleaned up for a fun party down in Saratoga celebrating a friend’s 50th birthday. It was a nice night with good friends. 

Sunday morning was quiet. I had the opportunity to sleep in but could I? Nope. Don’t you hate that. I was out of bed before 6AM and out of the house around 6:45 for a quick grocery store stop and a very important and necessary Starbucks run as well. 

What was so important at the grocery store that I had to go so early? Well, cake, that’s what. Owen turns 3 on Wednesday and I’m creating a masterpiece, I mean, cake, that required me to buy 9 boxes of cake mix (the 10th box is Funfetti for cupcakes, of course). I won’t reveal the cake creation today, because honestly it’s not done yet, but hopefully it comes out great and I’ll share some pictures later this week. I’m still baking, I have a third cake to make tonight and then tomorrow I start building… Stay tuned.

The rest of Sunday was pretty low key. Laundry, cleaning, etc. We ran some errands before heading north to pick up Owen from his grandparents house. He had spent the night Saturday so we could go to the party and have some adult time. We grabbed a steak at Oscar’s Smokehouse in Warrensburg on our way home for an easy dinner on the grill. 

Me and my goofball on Mother’s Day

I hope everyone had a great Mother’s Day and got to spend it with the people they love. I was so happy to get this beautiful homemade card from Owen, these gifts are the ones I’ll always remember.

Leave a Reply

